Not-so-dark obsession

Okay, I have a confession to make. I don’t really own the Donnie Darko soundtrack. I am currently obsessed, not only with blogging and with Aeon Flux (saw it again last night), but with the song “Mad World” on the Donnie Darko soundtrack. Unfortunately, I don’t have access to that song anywhere (none of our libraries has it!), so I’ve ordered the cd and while I’m waiting the estimated two weeks (!!) it’s going to take in shipping, I have this 30 second clip I got off Amazon that I just keep playing over and over. Oh, like you don’t have your own mental health problems to be ashamed of!

As for the cd I ordered, that’s not even the Donnie Darko cd. Instead, I bought the Gary Jules cd that has “Mad World” on it. Because I’m a wannabe Darko fan. I didn’t order the actual soundtrack because honestly I can’t stand to look at the cover of the thing. Or listen to any of the tracks. Thing freaks me out. I am both fascinated and repulsed by that movie. biblio_girl introduced me to it (thanks for the mental trauma, Girl, I loved it!) and I want to watch it again to understand it, but only if I can do it with my eyes closed and my fingers in my ears, going “La la la la la la!” I say, “I love that movie!” the same way you might say, “I love sharks!” What you really mean is you have a morbid fascination with sharks but, given a choice, you would rather avoid actual contact with them.

Plus my friends who are die-hard Darko fans are seriously some of the scariest people I know (not biblio_girl, though, I don’t consider her die-hard or scary). But maybe that’s part of my fascination with the movie. It’s like trying on scarves. Am I a scarf person? Am I a Darko fan? I’d feel seriously more badass if I were.

3 Responses to “Not-so-dark obsession”



Leave a Reply

