tagg’d!

i just barely heard of tagging, so was drunk with the novelty and unabashed egotism i felt from mariaelaina's recently tagging me.  i think i finally came up with a few interesting things.  i'm new to the whole tagging thing, so sorry it's so long!  i employed RANDOM CAPS to break things UP.

  • i hold a master's degree in FRENCH, speak it fluently, taught in universities for 3 years and have been to france twice, using a bohemian no-planning travel technique that once landed me and my sister at a deserted bus stop in the MIDDLE OF THE FRENCH WILDERNESS (auvergne) at midnight, HOPING a taxi was going to actually show up to take us to our remote castle hotel.

  • when i was a kid, i meant to be a SCIENTIST.  i saved all my BABY TEETH in a little plastic case and my cat's shed whiskers in a matching case.  i also carried around a (very outdated) year's subscription to ODYSSEY magazine everywhere i went.  it was heavy.  when i was about 11, my dad gave me a portion of the front garden to do what i wanted with it.  i dug a HUGE HOLE.  i harvested seeds from different weeds and planted them in neat rows.  and i maintained a large flat rock which i called the Pillbug Hotel.  happiest time of my life.

  • i took my beloved family cat away with me to college, where he DIED, was cremated and his ashes mailed home.  when i came back from college, i took one look inside the package and put it on the top shelf of my closet.  i haven't been able to face it since.  that was about eight years ago.  such an ignominious end.  it fills me with guilt.

  • i've completed TWO NOVELS for middle readers (about 50,000 words each) and never submitted either to anyone.

  • i had PNEUMONIA constantly as a child.  i lost count at 6 or 7 times.  one year i had it 3 or 4 times.  so i developed weird, sedentary, alone-time pasttimes:  i used to walk around the house holding a mirror flat in front of me so i could pretend i was WALKING ON THE CEILING.  i also used to make a PIG FACE in the mirror that both fascinated and scared me.  it still does.  or sometimes i'd stare at a fixed point in my room without blinking for as long as i could, then shut my eyes.  the ghost image of my room around me would be burned so vividly into my retinas that it would feel like my eyes were still open and i was sitting in some GHOSTLY, twilight version of my room, like a Van Allsburg illustration.  Sometimes it was fun, sometimes it was scary, mostly it was both.

is that five?  PHEW was THAT boring.  okay, my turn.  i tag dyer sophomore, piscis, the pants, rowdy redneck, and kahaha wahine.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

7 Responses to “tagg’d!”


  1. 1 mariaelaina January 22, 2007 at 10:24 am

    Boring? No way! You are 8 times awesomer now!

  2. 2 zazu January 22, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    That was definitely not boring!

  3. 3 Piscis January 22, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Eek…!
    What am I supposed to do, exactly?

  4. 4 Ernie January 22, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    8 times, WOW! that is an awesome random number that makes me FEEL awesomer! thanks!

  5. 5 Ernie January 22, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    wow, thanks! i'm amazed people even read the whole thing!

  6. 6 Ernie January 22, 2007 at 10:15 pm

    you blog 5 things about yourself no one is likely to know, then you tag 5 other people to do the same thing. it's kind of evil like a chain letter that way. 😀


Leave a Reply

