so continues my quest for a deoderant that doesnt burn or make me smell like poo

well, none have actually made me smell like poo.  just sweaty pits.  or unappealing fragrances.  but one did burn.  ooooh the burning!!  me in the morning, dutifully engaged in hygeine of the pits suddenly sounds just like invader zim in the disguise machine: "AAAAAAUGH!!!!   WHY DOES IT HUUUUUURT?!??!?!?"

so far, i've ruled out the following as viable brands:
Herbal Clear Natural Deoderant
Mitchum for Women (sorry, Pants, total poo)
Tom's of Maine Lavender (it burns!  IT BURNS!!!)
Adidas 24 hr. Control  (whose idea was THAT??)

i have them all in front of me right now.  all half-used and thrown back in the drawer.  on to the next!

suggestions, ladies??  please!!!  (but no Secret.  takes me right back to high school.  yeurgh.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

12 Responses to “so continues my quest for a deoderant that doesnt burn or make me smell like poo”


  1. 1 Matthew J April 13, 2007 at 10:18 am

    i wanna be a mongoose dog!i can only recomend axe. youll have ladies all over you.

  2. 2 Colleenist April 13, 2007 at 11:38 am

    I went online and Dove sent me a free sample of their deodorant. Go see if that's still available. I really like it.

  3. 3 Piscis April 14, 2007 at 12:37 am

    I'm no lady, but ban has some pretty neutral scents (not overpowering, and could go for a man or woman). The roll-ons don't leave any stains or marks, are mild on the skin, and are more of an antiperspirant, so they mask the bad smells without leaving something equally offensive in their place (you'll have to intentionally sniff your pits to get a whiff of the fragrance, and they're certainly not bad).
    And you know me; I'm extremely picky about what I leave on my skin! Only drawback is that they're $5 for a 100mL bottle, but you don't have to use a whole lot.
    If you do try it, the only thing I'd caution against is the unscented kind, since sometimes it does have a scent, and…well…it'll take you back to square one.

  4. 4 mariaelaina April 14, 2007 at 11:51 am

    I'm a Dove girl all the way. It tends to be the one of the cheapest too!Maybe you're one of those people like my mom who needs special prescription deodorant? It's kinda funny in a ridiculous sort of way, but she had the same sort of problems. Things were uncomfortable, or didn't work at all.Another thing her doc told her was to use the spray kind if she used regular deodorant. Turns out it works better, so just send your apologies to the ozone and give it a shot.

  5. 5 Aray of Joy Photography April 14, 2007 at 2:04 pm

    Don't rule out the Secret all together now! Remeber there is such a thing as UNscented!! I use to be the kinda person that only the MAN stuff worked on me…well I got tired of smelling like a man so Secret is strong enough for a man but made for a woman! hahahahahaha…give it a shot! hehe

  6. 6 BlueDelt April 14, 2007 at 7:55 pm

    I've actually found quite a few deodorants can cause a mild burning sensation for me too. Smelling "pretty" is important so I just put up with it. I love my old spice. I've actually found that if I take anti-histamines, most often Benadryl or Claritin, the irritation goes away.

  7. 7 Ernie April 14, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    i'd say i wished there were an axe equivalent for women, but the ad campaign would be too disturbing in the reverse.

  8. 8 Ernie April 14, 2007 at 11:26 pm

    okay, so i've got my assignment. dove, scented roll-on ban, unscented secret and a spray deoderant of some kind. i so totally swear i'm going to the pharmacy with that list and i'm TRYIN EM ALL! i gotta. my deoderant collection is starting to get lonely.

  9. 9 Ernie April 14, 2007 at 11:30 pm

    and actually, when it was just burning, i thought i could take it, but when the Pants exclaimed the other day "whats going on THERE?" and pointed to my pits, i thought i better make a change. no kidding, the skin was PEELING. :O

  10. 10 Rowdy April 16, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Ok, so I was telling you about Hypercare. Its truly amazing, it
    changed my life. I am like THE sweatiest person you know.
    Trust me. Anywho, yeah I finally broke down and told the doctors
    that it was embarrassing me so much I had to do something, so he
    prescribed it to me, and let me tell you, its amazing stuff. When
    I remember to put it on (since its at night) I feel so much better the
    next day because there is no, and I mean NO sweat! Its like I'm a
    whole new person, I can wear shirts/colors that I usually avoid because
    of unsightly pits stains. Ok yeah, I sound like an infomercial,
    but I'm ok with that.

  11. 11 Rowdy April 16, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Erin, if by disturbing you mean FREAKIN' AWESOME, then I would have to
    agree! I WANT HOT GUYS FIGHTING OVER ME. However
    Chris might get mad, but meh. I'll take my chances…

  12. 12 Ernie April 16, 2007 at 11:03 pm

    thanks for the infomercial!! I WANT THAT STUFF!! i'll ask for it the next time i cant escape going to the doctor. *gags*and, as for the axe, no i was more referring to something like the ending of the elevator commercial. youtube it if you wanna see scary.


Leave a Reply

