and sorry for repeatedly hating your recommendations, Cupcake

Kevin Spacey now has company on my blacklisted actors list. I will never again be enticed into watching a movie that contains Michael Cera. Even if it has Justin Long and that guy from the Hangover.

I’m sorry Michael. We’re like oil and water, you and I. Shhh… I’ve accepted it. It’s not personal, it’s just life. And it’s even a little bit beautiful.

4 Responses to “and sorry for repeatedly hating your recommendations, Cupcake”


  1. 1 Jungle Cat July 2, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Oh, tiny e. I know the movie of which you speak. And I’m on Cupcake’s side with this one (in fact, Cupcake’s side is where I always want to be . . . sigh). How can you go wrong with a movie that has the line “I’m gonna wrap your legs around my head and wear you like the crown that you are.”? Genius!

    Anyway, YiR is hilarious and Michael Cera is at the top of his game in it. Frankly, no one is better at playing Michael Cera than Michael Cera. Watch Superbad 73 times like I have and you may feel differently about him. In fact, not since Anthony Michael Hall in his John Hughes years has an actor so deftly captured the nearly impossible combination of being painfully awkward yet quirky cool. I am 38-years-old and I am still trying to master this improbable amalgamation of awesome. I’ll keep trying.

    Talk to you soon and tell Cupcake that I want to tickle her belly button . . . from the inside.

    • 2 sexualreference July 2, 2010 at 9:59 pm

      You’re preaching to the devil, Jungle Cat. I stand by my tastes, even when I’m aware they put me in the minority… as they often do when it comes to movies. Though I’m glad to hear your take and enjoyment of the genre.

      I know! Let’s all strip in a show of solidarity.

      • 3 Jungle Cat July 3, 2010 at 12:31 am

        I agree. Stripping solves everything. I’m naked right now! Speaking of awkward but awesome (and naked), have you ever seen the movie “Hedwig and the Angry Inch”? For some odd reason, I’ve had that movie on my mind lately. It is freakishly brilliant, musically stunning, and Michael Cera is nowhere to be found in it.

        • 4 sexualreference July 4, 2010 at 9:42 am

          thank you for the thoughtful recommendation, JC, but one look at IMDb tells me it’s another disaster waiting to happen. as far as movie tastes go, i likely have more in common with your kids than with you or Cupcake or most of the rest of my peers for that matter. my likelihood of liking a movie is inversely proportional to the number of adults liking that movie.

          best film I’ve seen recently? totally How to Train Your Dragon.


Leave a Reply

