taste of mexico

I love the break room at work, if not actually for gastronomic reasons, then for sheer entertainment factor. Nowhere else can I assemble crappy portable food on a plate from the 1970s that makes anything look unappetizing and eat with mismatched cutlery while being asked work questions by colleagues who preface everything with, “I know you’re at lunch, but…” And trying not to overhear about Mrs. M’s latest colon troubles.

Today, I plopped my steaming chimichanga out of its microwaveable cellophane packaging onto a plate next to my sliced up mango and realized for once I had done some meal planning! By accident! GUYS THESE ARE BOTH PRODUCTS OF MEXICO.

My lunch just went up from things-i-could-grab-while-Pants-stood-in-my-doorway-this-morning to something that deserves a real lunch line title, like I don’t know… MEXICAN MEDLEY.

BEHOLD.

Mexican Medley circa 1973

3 Responses to “taste of mexico”


  1. 1 Motormouth September 14, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Wait… Am I “mrs. M”???

    I was the only person in the breakroom with you during lunch today tiny e.

    • 2 sexualreference September 14, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      HA! no, Miss Motormouth, you are not one of the several venerable “Mrs. [insert last initial here]” who discuss their medical history in detail without provocation over their Healthy Choice salisbury steaks.

      when WE swap colon stories it is a sacred event called MUTUAL OVERSHARE that I would not dare question. it is sacred.


Leave a Reply

